MANAGING EDITOR: James R. Gapinski

James R. Gapinski holds an MFA in creative writing from Goddard College. His work has appeared in Word RiotNANO FictionJuked, Heavy Feather ReviewAtticus Review, and elsewhere. He lives in the Boston area with his partner, two cats, and a collection of 8-bit video games.

James R. GapinskiSample Fiction:

Sample Book Reviews:

Praise for James R. Gapinski:

  • ” . . . a gifted and imaginative writer.”  Ryan Boudinot, author of Blueprints of the Afterlife (Black Cat/Grove Atlantic)
  • ” . . . full of brilliant twists and surprises at every turn.”  –Victoria Nelson, author of Gothicka (Harvard University Press)
  • “[James’s characters] have a kind of suburbia mundane quality to them.  As if nothing exciting is happening in their lives, yet, their individual circumstances, ideas, and even psychological landscapes are wrought with the ingredients for seriously compelling stories.” –Tim Z. Hernandez, author of Mañana Means Heaven (University of Arizona Press)
Follow James on Twitter   Visit James’s website
EDITORIAL DIRECTOR: Chelsea Werner-Jatzke

Chelsea Werner-Jatzke is a writer from NYC living in Seattle. She received her MFA from Goddard College and is a fiction editor at Pacifica Literary Review. She is co-founder of Till, an annual writing retreat in Arlington, WA, and Lit.mustest, a reading series at the Richard Hugo House. She teaches continuing education creative writing at Seattle Central Community College. Her stories have appeared in Sonora Review, Monkeybicycle, Everyday Genius, SpringGun Press, Pif, Beecher’s Magazine, Tupelo Quarterly, and elsewhere.

Chelsea Werner-JatzkeSample Fiction:

SENIOR EDITOR: Uma Rallabhandi

Uma Rallabhandi communicates in strange beeps and grunts. She also likes to read. A lot.

ASSOCIATE EDITOR: Hillary Leftwich

Hillary Leftwich is a native of Colorado and currently lives in Denver with her son. In her day jobs, she has worked as a private investigator, maid, and pinup model. Her writing appeared recently in NANO Fiction, Monkeybicycle, Dogzplot, One Sentence Love Stories with Meg Pokrass and is forthcoming in Eunoia Review. Her flash fiction story, “Free Lunch,” is forthcoming in Progenitor and was also nominated for The Pushcart Prize. When she isn’t writing flash fiction she is reading it and more than likely eating it. She also writes creative nonfiction flash. She loves Steve Almond bios and hopes that one day she can be as badass as him. You can follow her on twitter @HillaryLeftwich.

Hillary Leftwich headshotSample Fiction:

Follow Hillary on Twitter   Follow Hillary’s Blog


Tristan Beach received his BA in English from Saint Martin’s University and an MFA in Creative Writing from Goddard College. He’s held internships at Copper Canyon Press, Coffee House Press, and Ucross Foundation. He was recently an editor for My Catholic Faith Press and an associate editor for Pitkin Review. He is currently on the editorial staff for Clockhouse. His book reviews have appeared in The Conium ReviewCutbank, and Tarpaulin Sky Press online. His poetry has appeared in Pitkin Review and rawboned. He teaches in Washington state and China.

Tristan BeachSample Book Reviews:

Sample Poetry:

FICTION EDITOR: Sarah Colwill-Brown

Sarah Colwill-Brown has lived in the US for four years, graduating from Boston College in 2014 with an MA in English Literature, where she served two years as assistant managing editor for Post Road magazine. Now marketing  manager at GrubStreet, a non-profit creative writing center in Boston, Sarah is also a recent graduate of GrubStreet’s Novel Incubator program and is currently finishing up her first novel. Sarah grew up in Yorkshire, England, birthplace of the Brontes, Patrick Stewart, and not being from London.

dsc08786mrk2 Follow Sarah on Twitter   Follow Sarah’s Blog

FICTION EDITOR: Justin Carmickle

Justin Carmickle holds a BA from Indiana University and an MFA in fiction from Virginia Commonwealth University, where he taught courses in fiction and poetry and was Assistant Literary Editor of Blackbird. Currently, he is an English PhD candidate in the University of Southern Mississippi’s Center for Writers. His fiction has received an honorable mention in Glimmer Train’s Short Story Award for New Writers and has appeared in Louisiana Literature,  Mary, and Midwestern Gothic.



Adam Padgett’s fiction has appeared in Appalachian Heritage, Santa Clara Review, Cold Mountain Review, SmokeLong Quarterly, The Conium Review, and in other fine journals. Additionally, his fiction has been reprinted in Surreal South ’13: An Anthology of Short Fiction. He is a mentor for PEN America’s Prison Writing Program and has been nominated for a Pushcart Prize. He teaches writing at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte.

Sample Fiction:

Sample Book Reviews:

Follow Adam on Twitter


Holly Tri is an editor at Inkwater Press in Portland, Oregon. She also does freelance editing work. She has a BAS in Psychology from the University of Minnesota Duluth and an MFA in Creative Writing from Goddard College. Born and raised in Minnesota, she and her family now live near Portland, Oregon, just an hour away from a day at the beach. In addition to editing, Holly also writes fiction and has a passion for ancient and medieval history. Her short story “Eight Hours” appeared in the online journal The Rejected Writer in spring 2014, and she was invited to join The Rejected Writer as an editor a short time later.

Sample Fiction:


Susan Lynch is primarily a poet whose works have been published in ASH (Oxford University Poetry Society), Elohi Gadugi Journal, Circle Poems anthology in the UK, commissioned for art cards in Scotland, and upcoming in Bombay Gin. A songwriter and lyricist, Joan Jett’s cover of her song (written with Larry Whitman) My Big Reward appears on the soundtrack of Nora Ephron’s film, Lucky Numbers. She studied literature at Oxford University, holds a BA in English from Reed College, and an MFA from Goddard College. She has written a poetry collection, Into the All Empty, and teaches poetry & poetics to all age groups because poetry makes nothing happen, in a good way. She has been called ‘a serious word freak.’

Susan Lynch photoSample Book Reviews:

Follow Susan on Twitter